



Driven by Our Research

CSL Behring – Prof. Heimburger Award 2019

April 10, 2019



About the award

The award is named in honor of Professor Dr. Norbert Heimburger, a pioneer of modern coagulation therapy and a CSL Behring employee for more than three decades. Among his many achievements was the development of virus-safe plasma products based on pasteurization. Due to his research efforts the company launched the world's first effectively virus-inactivated FVIII concentrate in 1981.

CSL Behring is committed to supporting long-range progress in the area of coagulation

CSL Behring Prof. Heimburger Award Ceremony: May 24, 2019

Supporting the Next Generation of Coagulation Specialists

The next generation of coagulation specialist has received renewed support from global biotech leader CSL Behring in linking laboratory science to clinical practice.

Five emerging specialists will receive CSL Behring Prof. Heimburger research grants of €20,000 each at its leading-edge facility in Marburg, Germany, where Prof. Norbert Heimburger practiced and presented his science. The awards given in his name go each year to up-and-coming coagulation experts who hold medical degrees and typically have less than five years faculty experience in hemostasis.

The Award Winners listed below will represent their institutes and present their research during the 12th annual ceremony on May 24, 2019. The ceremony will include members of the Scientific Committee and other investigators from previous years' Prof. Heimburger Award Winners.





Scientific Committee

The success of the Prof. Heimburger Award for the last eleven years has been evident by the large number of applications which have been consistently received each year from all over the world.

This has been realized with the support of renowned scientists who have contributed to the conception and development of this grant and who are serving on the Selection Committee to continue to support it. The Selection Committee is made up of four specialists in the field of hematology from different parts of the world, who have been asked to use their wide knowledge and expertise to evaluate and select the Prof. Heimburger Award recipients. Their enthusiasm and personal commitment to make this program remarkable successful is very much appreciated. The current Selection Committee Members are from Germany, Hungary, Japan and USA:



ANDREAS TIEDE, MD

Hannover Medical School, Hannover, Germany



LÁSZLÓ NEMES, MD

National Institute of Haematology and Blood Transfusion, Hungary



MIDORI SHIMA MD/PhD

Department of Pediatrics, Nara Medical University, Japan



STEVEN PIPE, MD

CS Mott Children's Hospital, Univ. of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI, USA



(Back) Jens Oltrogge; Andreas Tiede; László Nemes; Steven Pipe

(Front) Ferdows Atiq; Alexandre Theron; Jessica Heijdra; Lindsey George

Last Year's Winners

Dr. Ferdows Atiq, Erasmus University Medical Center, Netherlands

Dr. Samantha Donkel, Erasmus University Medical Center, Netherlands

Dr. Jessica Heijdra, Erasmus University Medical Center, Rotterdam, Netherlands

Dr. Alexandre Theron, Montpelier University, France

Dr. Lindsey George, Perelman School of Medicine, University of Pennsylvania, USA



CSL Behring

Grant details and application for 2020

CSL Behring is committed to supporting progress in the area of coagulation in the long run. Based on recent publications and feedback from the medical community, allowing the next generation of coagulation specialists to medically and scientifically establish themselves, it is important to ensure continued progress in this therapeutic area. CSL Behring will fund the next cycle of a global grant program to support the above objective.

Grant Details and Eligibility

CSL Behring will set up 5 global start-up grants of €20,000 each. The grants are reserved for researchers who hold a medical degree. Applicants with less than 5 years faculty experience in hemostasis will be preferred.

No matching funding is a prerequisite for this grant. The grants will be available for clinical and/ or preclinical research in the area of coagulation.

Application Procedure

Application forms and information flyer can either be downloaded via the following <u>link</u> or obtained from the following address:

CSL Behring GmbH Att. Birgit Voelker, M.D. Global Medical Affairs Emil-von-Behring-Strasse 76 35041 Marburg, GERMANY

E-mail: <u>Heimburger.Award@cslbehring.com</u>

For inquiries regarding application, policy and procedures information, please contact us. Applications consisting of application form, short CV and research proposal (one-pager) must be postmarked by **November 17, 2019** to be considered for the next cycle. Applications should be submitted in English to the address above.

